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	<title>Spreed:Blog - Mobile News for Media and Publishing Executives &#187; Spreed</title>
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		<title>“Are you “Mobile Ready”? Special Discount to the Mobile Biz Bootcamp</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=389</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=389#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 07 Sep 2010 13:34:00 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[biz]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[bootcamp]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[deloitte]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[duncan stewart]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[gary kovacs]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile biz bootcamp]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[sybase]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[tomi ahonen]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=389</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[“Are you “Mobile Ready”? Your customers are. And your competitors are quickly becoming mobile ready. Can you afford not to be? Learn what it takes to be successful with mobile. Our very own Dave Coleman will be speaking at the 2nd annual MobileBiz BootCamp, September 15th at the Glenn Gould Studio, CBC Building, Toronto.  It’s a [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>“Are you “Mobile Ready”? Your customers are. And your competitors are quickly becoming mobile ready. Can you afford not to be? Learn what it takes to be successful with mobile.</p>
<p>Our very own Dave Coleman will be speaking at the 2nd annual MobileBiz BootCamp, September 15th at the Glenn Gould Studio, CBC Building, Toronto.  It’s a full day of mobile insights with over 25 leading experts from Deloitte, Mobilicity, Spreed, RIM, QuickPlay Media, BlackBerry Partners Fund, KPMG, IDC Canada and more. Topics include:<br />
·        Top Trends in Mobile<br />
·        From Idea to Revenues: Case Studies from the Frontline<br />
·        Finding Success with Mobile Apps<br />
·        Going Global with a Wave of Mobile Opportunities<br />
·        Money Talks: Who’s Got It? Who’s Getting It?<br />
·        Selling Your Company: Insights and Practical Tips<br />
·        Breaking into the Corporate Mobile Market</p>
<p>Special keynote speakers include Duncan Stewart, Director of Research, Deloitte; Gary Kovacs, SVP Markets, Products &amp; Solutions, Sybase: and Tomi Ahonen, Mobile Thought Leader.</p>
<p>Besides the practical knowledge and excellent networking opportunities, the BootCamp will be offering prizes including free consulting services, free industry expert research and giveaways.</p>
<p>As a speaker, we are able to offer a 15% discount on registration fees. Just click the link to register and obtain the discount <a href="http://mobilebizbootcamp.eventbrite.com/?discount=MBBCSpeaker2010" target="_blank">http://mobilebizbootcamp.eventbrite.com/?discount=MBBCSpeaker2010</a></p>
<p>Act quickly as the code is good only until midnight Friday, September 10th.</p>
<p>Check out <a href="http://www.mobilebizbootcamp.org/" target="_blank">www.MobileBizBootCamp.org</a> to get more information and to register.”</p>
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		<title>Location Based Services: The Pros, The Cons and Where to Go from Here</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=383</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=383#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 15 Jul 2010 19:22:05 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[location based advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[location based services]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[building brand loyalty]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[FourSquare]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[gowalla]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[GPS capabilities]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[groupon]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[grouptabs]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[LBA]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[LBS]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[LBS application]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile coupons]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile push notifications]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile technology]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile trends]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobilemarketingwatch]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[retail industry]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Saad Fazil]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[smart phone applications]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[smart phones]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[targeted advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[techcrunch]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[VenturBeat]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[venturebeat]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=383</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[It will be no surprise to our readers that at Spreed we believe strongly in the promise of Location Based Advertising (LBA). We have talked about LBA in many of our previous posts and have built powerful  LBA features into our CleverAds mobile advertising platform. For those unfamiliar with Location Based Advertising it is any [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>It will be no surprise to our readers that at Spreed we believe strongly in the promise of Location Based Advertising (LBA). We have talked about LBA in many of our <a href="http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=379">previous posts</a> and have built powerful  LBA features into our CleverAds mobile advertising platform.</p>
<p>For those unfamiliar with Location Based Advertising it is any form of advertising that targets users in a specific location and provides them with geographically-relevant ads. LBA has been around for quite some time now on the web, but typically targeting users only on the city or neighborhood level. However, with the rise of smart phones and smart phone applications, LBA becomes a lot more interesting. Almost all of the new smart phones possess GPS capabilities. This means that advertisers can now target people down to peoples exact location as they move around their respective cities.</p>
<p>We believe that LBA is going to be huge for the retail industry and we are already starting to see the returns as outlined in some of our <a href="http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=379">previous posts</a>. Although LBA has been around for some time, the companies really pushing this space forward are the Location Based Services (LBS), such as <a href="http://www.foursquare.com">FourSquare</a> and <a href="http://www.gowalla.com">Gowalla</a>. These services let you &#8216;check-in&#8217; to specific locations and see who else is there and where your friends are. They are also useful for pushing location based deals and incentive programs. Gowalla, launched in 2007 and Foursquare launched in 2009 (according to Wikipedia). In the race to be the dominant service Foursquare is clearly winning &#8211;  <a href="http://techcrunch.com/2010/07/07/foursquare-gowalla-stats/">Techcrunch </a>recently reported that they are 5x larger and are growing 75% faster than Gowalla every day.</p>
<p>Location Based Services are exciting and have been gathering momentum over the past two years.   However we wanted to take this opportunity to point out the pros, cons and where we think they are moving in the next 6-12 months in regards to their potential for Location Based Advertising.</p>
<p><strong>Pros </strong></p>
<ul>
<li>These services are great at building brand loyalty. For example, if you are the person who &#8216;checks-in&#8217; the most on FourSquare at a location, you become the mayor. Some stores offer free incentives to their current mayor. Also, there is a large opportunity to provide discounts to customers who &#8216;check-in&#8217; a certain number of times. Think of this as an automated loyalty card program (i.e. Subway card).</li>
<li>They pull nearby users in. For example, Foursquare is beginning to push deals via a banner on the application for specific stores or venues if you &#8216;check-in&#8217; around their location.</li>
<li>They let you know who is physically around you. I have been to many concerts and found out after the fact that friends were there. By using one of these LBS&#8217;s you can easily &#8216;check-in&#8217; and find out who else is there (in real time).</li>
<li>They are great for Word-of-Mouth marketing. Users can add tips to locations. If you login to a location close by to a location where a friend has left a &#8216;tip&#8217;, you receive the WOM advise via a push notification.</li>
</ul>
<p><strong>Cons</strong></p>
<ul>
<li>People value privacy. I have been hearing from a growing number of <a href="http://casiestewart.com/its-time-to-have-the-talk/">people </a>that they do not want everyone knowing where they are all the time. I think we are going to see this trend increase as time goes on. People are already worried about their privacy, but Location Based Services just up the ante on open information.</li>
<li>People are beginning to experience serious &#8216;check-in fatigue&#8217;. Every time you go to a location, you have to manually check-in. If you are only using Foursquare, it still gets tiresome; However, if you are using multiple LBS applications, it becomes out-right annoying.</li>
<li>There is very little utility for advertisers. Other than the location based deals that pop up every once in a while on Foursquare, there is very little value added to brands by these tools. People can provide you tips when you check in to a location, but there is no call to action, no directions to get to this location and definitely no &#8216;download a coupon&#8217; option for this location tool.</li>
</ul>
<p>If LBS apps are going to survive and become successful business ventures, they will need to address these cons. There is an interesting <a href="http://www.mobilemarketingwatch.com/grouptabs-aims-to-combine-power-of-groupon-foursquare-launches-next-month-7866/">article </a> in  today&#8217;s <a href="http://www.mobilemarketingwatch.com">Mobile Marketing Watch</a> about a new LBS app called <a href="http://www.GroupTabs.com">GroupTabs</a>. GroupTabs is set to launch in a few weeks and is a cross between FourSquare and Groupon. If you do not know about Groupon yet, they push local deals to subscribers daily. Grouptabs plans to push people deals from around their current location as they &#8216;check-in&#8217;. These deals will add a lot of value to the LBS chain and definitely provide utility for both the advertiser and the end user &#8212; which solves one of the major problems of the current tools.</p>
<p>The second article that inspired this post is based on &#8216;check-in fatigue&#8217; and can be found <a href="http://www.mobilemarketingwatch.com/forget-manual-check-ins-automatic-is-the-way-of-the-future-for-lbs-7861/">here</a>. In this article Saad Fazil of VenturBeat states that, &#8220;Auto checkins can become useful if, for example, I specify Starbucks as one of my favorite spots and am automatically checked in whenever I am there — thus making it easier for the company to offer discounts based on number of checkins.&#8221; I wasn&#8217;t too sure about auto check-in&#8217;s at first as people are already leaving these services because they do not want people to know where they are all the time. However, if you can specify what your favorite stores/locations are and have the tool automatically check you in when you enter the location, those problems cease to become a deterrent.</p>
<p>Now imagine if we mashed up the above two concepts and created an LBS application that allowed you to chose your favorite stores. Whenever you entered the store, you would be pushed a relevant coupon or promotional deal either for the store or for a relevant purchase. This would get rid of the &#8216;check-in&#8217; fatigue, would in most cases solve users issues around privacy as these are not private location and would supply a great deal of value to the end user. This is the future of Location Based Services and where we would like to see this space going in the future in order to drive the Location Based Advertising Industry.</p>
<p>Only time will tell, but we think GroupTabs is on to a great idea and we whole heartedly support their efforts. If they can adopt the automated check-in system, we think they have  winner. At Spreed we are looking to push location based deals when people open up their newspaper app around one of the papers retail advertiser locations. The pop up would include directions to the location and a coupon for use on their next purchase. As end-users, newspaper publishers and advertisers, what do you think of this opportunity and Location Based Services in general? Let us know!</p>
<p><strong> </strong></p>
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		<title>&#8216;USA Today&#8217; Gets $50 iPad CPMs</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=377</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=377#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 29 Jun 2010 14:48:33 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[apple]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[newspapers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[publishing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[cpm]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[gannett]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ipad]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[usa today]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=377</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Even more good news regarding the mobile advertising industry so far in 2010. It seems that all the hype (whether deserved or not) surrounding the iPad has translated into some very early successes for newspapers like Gannett&#8217;s USA Today. The Washington Post is reporting that USA Today sold a $50 CPM for its inaugural advertiser [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Even more good news regarding the mobile advertising industry so far in 2010. It seems that all the hype (whether deserved or not) surrounding the iPad has translated into some very early successes for newspapers like Gannett&#8217;s USA Today. The Washington Post is reporting that USA Today sold a $50 CPM for its inaugural advertiser on the iPad, Courtyard Marriott. That comes to $0.05 per impression, compared to less than $0.01 per impression for USA Today&#8217;s Web site. Such pricing suggests the iPad may prove to be a lucrative new source of revenue for newspaper and magazine publishers.</p>
<p><a href="www.mediapost.com">MediaPost News </a> has a great post on the subject at the link below</p>
<p><a href="http://www.mediapost.com/publications/?fa=Articles.showArticle&amp;art_aid=129749">&#8216;USA Today&#8217; Gets $50 iPad CPMs </a></p>
<p style="padding-left: 30px;"><em>Mobile ad networks have typically charged $10 to $20 CPMs for advertisers looking to reach consumers via ordinary mobile phones. Premium prices range $30 to $40 for mobile video and for particularly desirable cohorts, like iPhone and smartphone owners, super premiums of $50 for popular publications, in the case of USA Today.</em></p>
<p style="padding-left: 30px;"><em>WaPo reported that one mobile marketing company, Mobext U.S., said publishers are charging two to four times their typical online rates, &#8212; generally under $10.</em></p>
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		<title>Mobile Advertising in Canada Grew by 68% during Q1 2010</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=369</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=369#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 29 Jun 2010 14:20:13 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[applications]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[digital publishing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[newspapers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[buzzcity]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[canada]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[growth]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile advertising]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=369</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[We need to apologize for the lack of posts in the past month, but as you can tell by the title, things have really been picking up. BuzzCity, a global advertising network that releases a quarterly advertising index, reported that mobile advertising grew by 38% globally in Q1 of 2010. As a personal anecdote, we can [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>We need to apologize for the lack of posts in the past month, but as you can tell by the title, things have really been picking up. <a href="http://www.buzzcity.com">BuzzCity</a>, a global advertising network that releases a quarterly advertising index, reported that mobile advertising grew by 38% globally in Q1 of 2010. As a personal anecdote, we can  report that <a href="http://spreedinc.com">Spreed&#8217;s </a>clients  have been bombarded in Q1 by advertisers interested in reaching their respective mobile audience.</p>
<p>CEO of BuzzCity, KF Lai, stated that “This double digit growth is also seen beyond the top 20 markets reported on in the study. America saw a 54 percent increase of ads served over the three months in Q1 of 2010,” he said. “This sharp increase in growth, globally and in the U.S., can be attributed to the mobile-centric agencies who are delivering more constant and structured investments in the mobile medium.”</p>
<p>We must note here that these numbers reflect mobile banner advertising and not SMS or mobile search advertising. Banner advertising which is currently the heart and soul of mobile application advertising has traditionally been a fraction of its other two, much more mature siblings.</p>
<p>It is exciting to see the Canadian numbers grow by 68%, considering that <a href="http://www.spreedinc.com">Spreed&#8217;s </a>headquarters are in Canada and a number of a marquee clients also are run out of the great white north. Canada is still only ranked number 5 in the World for mobile advertising spending. However, this is the first year we have made the top list and all of these figures are proof that mobile is a viable channel. Those media organizations who supported the wait and see strategy in regards to their mobile strategy should definitely take these numbers to heart.</p>
<p>Mobile advertising is still just a fraction of mainstream digital or broadcast advertising. However, page views and overall app and mobile web usage are increasing at a rapid rate. It is important to start on a mobile strategy at some point in 2010 if your organization wants to lock down users and start building up statistics in order to attract these advertisers.</p>
<p>Please see the chart below for exact numbers and rankings.</p>
<p><img class="alignnone" title="BuzzCity global mobile advertising index q1 2010" src="http://www.mobilemarketer.com/cms/lib/7847.jpg" alt="" width="426" height="681" /></p>
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		<title>Special Offer for the Canadian Newspaper Association Ink and Beyond Conference</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=367</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=367#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 13 May 2010 15:42:20 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=367</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[The Spreed team will be attendance at the Canadian Newspaper Association Ink and Beyond conference. We are very excited to be supporting this event as an exhibitor. For the next two weeks we will be offering a special 50% yearly discount to all attendees of the conference. Contact us at dave[at]spreedinc[dot]com if you are interested.]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>The Spreed team will be attendance at the Canadian Newspaper Association Ink and Beyond conference. We are very excited to be supporting this event as an exhibitor. </p>
<p>For the next two weeks we will be offering a special 50% yearly discount to all attendees of the conference. </p>
<p>Contact us at dave[at]spreedinc[dot]com if you are interested.  </p>
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		<title>How News Organizations Need to Change in Order to Succeed : NAA MediaXChange Keynote with Rishad Tobaccowala</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=352</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=352#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 12 Apr 2010 19:49:02 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Internet]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Technology]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ipad]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[iphone]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[newspapers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[publishing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[MediaXchange]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[MXC2010]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[NAA]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[NAAMXC10]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[NAAMXC2010]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Rishad Tobaccowala]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=352</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[This morning at the NAA MediaXchange Rishad Tobaccowala gave a provocative keynote session on the future of marketing and advertising and how traditional media companies must leverage new platforms to more effectively serve advertising to customers. As the Chief Innovation Officer of Chicago-based Publicis Group Media, Rishad is one of the most influential thinkers in the North [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>This morning at the NAA MediaXchange Rishad Tobaccowala gave a provocative keynote session on the future of marketing and advertising and how traditional media companies must leverage new platforms to more effectively serve advertising to customers.</p>
<p>As the Chief Innovation Officer of Chicago-based Publicis Group Media, Rishad is one of the most influential thinkers in the North American advertising industry. It is therefore no surprise that the audience was on the edge of their seats listening intently to Rishad`s advice.</p>
<p>We at Spreed found his talk very interesting considering many of his recommendations push newspapers in the direction of a number of the products and services that we provide (mobile platforms, mobile advertising, location based advertising, etc).</p>
<p>Rishad left with 10 recommendations for newspapers to follow in the future that we would like to share here:</p>
<ol>
<li>Be schizophrenic &#8211; Only the schizophrenic will thrive. Run two or more business models at the same time but make sure they are very separate. Do not make a big mesh of all your models.</li>
<li>Embrace technology &#8211; Tech is the new magic. Make sure the follwing ive things are done by the end of this week.
<ol>
<li>Use an RSS reader and start following your passions through it</li>
<li>Get a Twitter account</li>
<li>Get on Facebook</li>
<li>Get on Foursquare</li>
<li>Go to someone in your company who is younger (probably 2-3 levels below you) and make them your mentor. Take them outside of the company every two weeks and get them to teach you about what is new and upcoming</li>
</ol>
</li>
<li>Embrace the blur &#8211; Church and state are too separate within news organizations. All elements of a news organization (sales, editorial, technology) need to work together in the same group.</li>
<li>Learn fast, iterate faster, make mistakes and don&#8217;t be afraid to fail.</li>
<li>Do a massive outreach to young people &#8211; You want to make the industry exciting. Don`t be swamped with old people. Get youngsters into the industry.</li>
<li>Think about what curating, combining and editing really is</li>
<li>Platforms &#8211; Every company needs a platform strategy. How do you attract new partners? What&#8217;s your device strategy (iPad, iPhone, etc)? What&#8217;s your search strategy?</li>
<li>Make sure that you celebrate the software and technology folks at your organization. Don&#8217;t hide them in a room somewhere even if they are strange. Tell them about the business and ask them to solve business issues</li>
<li>Think about  the future of your organization. Thank about your organizational design, incentives, benefits, etc.</li>
<li>This one was a bit odd and I am not sure exactly what he meant by it, but the industry is not anyone but you. there is not industry but yo, embrace the &#8220;muchness&#8221;. &#8220;This is my dream and I am going to decide how it ends&#8221;</li>
</ol>
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		<title>NAA MediaXchange 2010</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=350</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=350#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sat, 10 Apr 2010 17:25:54 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[newspapers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[publishing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[2010]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[MediaXchange]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[MXC10]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[MXC2010]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[NAA]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=350</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[For the next five days we will be heading down to Orlando, Florida for the 2010 NAA MediaXchange. The MediaXchange is one of those rare times of the year that everyone in the North American newspaper industry comes together to learn, share and have some fun. We will be bringing you all the news and [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>For the next five days we will be heading down to Orlando, Florida for the 2010 NAA MediaXchange. The MediaXchange is one of those rare times of the year that everyone in the North American newspaper industry comes together to learn, share and have some fun. We will be bringing you all the news and advice from the most relevant session. If you are going to be there yourself please send us an email at dave [at] spreedinc [dot] com.</p>
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		<title>Mobilizing Retail : If it&#8217;s Important to Retail Advertisers, it&#8217;s Important to Publishers</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=306</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=306#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 06 Apr 2010 19:03:37 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>pwalshe</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[newspapers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[publishing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[flyers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[FSI]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[inserts]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[newspaper]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[revenue]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=306</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Retail advertising is the engine of newspaper revenue.  Of the $13,356.2 billion spend on national and retail advertising in Q&#8217;3 2009, 77% came from retail.    As retailers and newspapers continue to test new ways to engage shoppers, flyers are and will remain an connection bewteen retailers and their customers. According to Matthew Tilley, COO of Inmar quoted [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Retail advertising is the engine of newspaper revenue.  Of the $13,356.2 billion spend on national and retail advertising in Q&#8217;3 2009, 77% came from retail.    As retailers and newspapers continue to test new ways to engage shoppers, flyers are and will remain an connection bewteen retailers and their customers.</p>
<p>According to Matthew Tilley, COO of Inmar quoted in the January 26th edition of Internet Retailer <a href="http://http://www.internetretailer.com/dailyNews.asp?id=33285">&#8220;newspaper inserts still account for 89% of coupons distributed to consumers and more than half of coupon redemption&#8221;</a> .  Tilley also points out that consumer coupon redemption grew by 27% between 2008 and 2009.</p>
<p>As mobile publishers, we are aware of the increasing importance consumers place on their smarphones as a source of price intelligence.  A recent study from Compete demonstrates how smartphone users in general, iPhone users in particlular, have made mobile device an essential part of their shopping activity.</p>
<p><a href="http://blog.spreedinc.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/DN-Smartphone1.gif"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-309" src="http://blog.spreedinc.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/DN-Smartphone1.gif" alt="" width="498" height="324" /></a></p>
<p>Mobile users are now able to access retail price information on their smartphones because of  the increase in the number of retailers that have mobilized their weekly inserts/circulars.  Virtually every major American retailer now distributes their weekly Free Standing Inserts (FSI&#8217;s) on mobile devises.  Retailers continue to expand their use of mobile to engage their consumers and to distribute feature pricing information and mobile coupons.  Retailers as diverse as Armani and A&amp;P have add mobility to their marketing communications activity.  Very recent examples of the expanding role mobile plays in retailer&#8217;s  include Valpak&#8217;s mobilization of the 17,000 coupons in their vehicle.  Verizon has made their SpendSmart digital coupon product available to their mobile sunscribers.  Safeway has joined Cellfire to allow loyalty club members to download coupons to their mobile.</p>
<p style="text-align: center;">The mobilization of retail flyers/ circulars and coupons respond to a very clear demand from consumers for mobile price intelligence.<a href="http://blog.spreedinc.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/shopping-activity.jpg"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-311" src="http://blog.spreedinc.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/shopping-activity.jpg" alt="" width="494" height="342" /></a></p>
<p>We believe that we are still in the early stages of the mobilization of retail. As more consumers purchase smart phones we will see a dramatic increase in their reliance on their mobile phones for price intelligence and product discovery. Retailers will need to respond to consumer demand for price intelligence with applications of their own and with smart ad placements across mobile applications. Spreed has been following this development &#8211; we know that it is vitally important to our newspaper publishing partners because inserts deliver significant ad revenue.  We have built FSI capability into  our mobile application platform.  We call this solution mFlyers.  It has been built to allow publishers to easily sell retail based insert space in their mobile applications. We we will be showing off this functionality very shortly in our blog and on our applications. Keep your eyes peeled for more information soon.</p>
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		<title>Is The Mobile Web More Popular Than Reading?</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=317</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=317#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 31 Mar 2010 12:59:51 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Technology]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[applications]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[digital publishing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[newspapers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[publishing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[EIAA]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile web]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[web]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=317</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[The European Interactive Advertising Association (EIAA) recently released a study on European usage of the mobile web. According the EIAA a whopping 71 million European&#8217;s use the mobile web on a weekly basis. They also found that on average European surf the web for an average of 6.4 hours a week. Where the study falls [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>The European Interactive Advertising Association (EIAA) recently released a study on European usage of the mobile web. According the EIAA a whopping 71 million European&#8217;s use the mobile web on a weekly basis. They also found that on average European surf the web for an average of 6.4 hours a week.</p>
<p>Where the study falls apart in our eyes is how they compare these stats to the average number of hours a typical European spends reading traditional news/magazines a week (4.1 hours). The study concludes that people are reading news and magazines more on the mobile web than traditionally. This seems like a flawed assumption considering that most of these reported users are in a younger demographic and are probably surfing Facebook and other geographically relevant social networks, not reading a news website.</p>
<p>I have no doubt that in the near future we will see more people reading the news through mobile applications and websites than traditional forms of media. However, it is important that we stay grounded in the statistics and not act to hastily.</p>
<p>An interesting next study for the EIAA would be to segment their data in order to find out how much of the 6.4 hours a week Europeans are spending on actual news and magazine mobile sites.</p>
<p>The mobile web is clearly on the rise and here at Spreed we are constantly asked whether the right mobile strategy for a publishing company is to launch a mobile website or whether it&#8217;s best to just launch an application. This is worthy of a blog post in itself, however  simply put we do not think that the two are mutually exclusive. In this increasingly mobile world that we live in, it is necessary to work on both strategies as they each address specific goals and challenges.</p>
<p>The mobile web is great for sharing and receiving links on the go. Mobile applications on the other hand serve the purpose of content discovery. More information to come in a future blog post <img src='http://blog.spreedinc.com/wp-includes/images/smilies/icon_smile.gif' alt=':)' class='wp-smiley' /> </p>
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		<title>Apple and Newspapers Can Co-Exist</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=302</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=302#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 16 Mar 2010 20:30:37 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[apple]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[applications]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[digital publishing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[e-readers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ipad]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[newspapers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[kirk lapointe]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[news]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[themediamanager]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[UBC school of journalism]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[vancouver sun]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=302</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[http://seekingalpha.com/article/193140-apple-and-newspapers-one-hand-will-wash-the-other]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><em>This is a guest post from <a href="http://www.twitter.com/kirklapointe">Kirk LaPointe</a></em><em>, the Managing Editor of the Vancouver Sun, blogger at <a href="http://www.themediamanager.com">themediamanager.com </a></em><em>and adjunct professor at the UBC School of Journalism. </em></p>
<p>The routinely strong Seeking Alpha site features a somewhat conciliatory post from media corporate financial advisor on the impending coexistence of the Apple iPad and the newspaper industry.</p>
<p>Dan Ramsden <a href="http://seekingalpha.com/article/193140-apple-and-newspapers-one-hand-will-wash-the-other" target="_blank">has some tough words</a> for Google. He sees its recent encouragement of the newspaper industry to experiment as self-serving &#8212; the more papers try to do things online, the more Google&#8217;s search engine technology benefits.</p>
<p>But he makes an interesting choice in where to place the technological bet. While recent media coverage has suggested Google&#8217;s open-source design of its Android smartphone offers the greatest opportunity for old media to succeed, Ramsden begs to differ.</p>
<p>He is firmly in the Apple camp. It&#8217;s the technology of choice by consumers, it&#8217;s the technology company that has figured out (through iTunes and the iPhone) how to exact a premium for content, so it&#8217;s the technology the newspaper business should focus on serving.</p>
<p>&#8220;Newspaper and magazine owners, who are struggling to redefine their business models for a new online and mobile environment, would probably be well served to align themselves with the platform that can offer a revenue model, and a mobile marketplace, and leave the experimentation and iteration stuff to young entrepreneurs and startups that do not yet have a franchise to protect,&#8221; he writes.</p>
<p>He suggests: &#8220;Style, design, quality control, are all characteristics that will do much more to facilitate the popularity of paid content than one more colorful website that may or may not show up at the top of Google’s search results.&#8221;</p>
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		<title>Flurry Smartphone Industry Pulse, February 2009: Traditional Media Dominating the News Category</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=297</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=297#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 15 Mar 2010 14:58:07 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Technology]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[applications]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[digital publishing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[iphone]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[newspapers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[publishing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[apps]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[developers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[flurry]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[news]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[newspaper]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[traditional media]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=297</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[http://blog.flurry.com/bid/31376/Flurry-Smartphone-Industry-Pulse-February-2010?source=Blog_Email_[Flurry+Smartphone+In]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Flurry, a mobile analytics company known for their strong industry statistics released their <a href="http://blog.flurry.com/bid/31376/Flurry-Smartphone-Industry-Pulse-February-2010?source=Blog_Email_[Flurry+Smartphone+In]">February report</a> today. The report is interesting as it relates to the consistent surge of iPhone developers and their unique demographics. What is interesting to our readers is the specific attention it gave to the news category. As expected traditional media sources are dominating the news category. This is mostly due to the fact that it is not easy to simply start publishing the news and creating content. What it does point out though is that the iPhone and other smartphones are very useful channels to distribute content very inexpensively and target a very attractive demographic.</p>
<p>Possibly, more interesting is the rise of online news sources on the iPhone. Flurry believes that with the release of the iPad we are going to see an even strong supply and demand for blogs and other online media sources. It is therefore essential that if your newspaper does not have an app now, to act fast. If you wait too long, the online media sources will own the real estate on users phones and other mobile devices.  More below and in the report.</p>
<p><img class="alignnone" title="traditional media mobile" src="http://blog.flurry.com/Portals/41620/images//iPhoneDevHeritage_News.png" alt="" width="463" height="422" /></p>
<p>Like gaming, the creation of compelling content in News is a specialized and costly operation. To source and report quality news, companies often have to span various media such as TV broadcast, radio and print, which further increases cost. It&#8217;s therefore no surprise that Traditional Media dominates the News category, controlling nearly two thirds. For traditional media (e.g., New York Times, ABC News, NPR, etc.), the iPhone represents a large channel through which to distribute their existing content. The small incremental cost of expanding the distribution of Traditional Media&#8217;s core content, and the attractiveness of reaching an educated, affluent and tech-savvy audience, makes iPhone the perfect platform through which to serve news. Looking forward, the iPad creates an even greater opportunity to increase reach because its larger screen size works better works for newspaper and magazine layouts, as well as TV broadcast.</p>
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		<title>Mobile Newspaper Applications: Beyond the Headlines</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=258</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=258#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 10 Mar 2010 21:18:23 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[newspapers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[applications]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[gannet]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[iphone]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[knoxnews]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[new york times]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[nytimes]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[usa today]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[user experience]]></category>

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		<description><![CDATA[It is often a habit of mobile developers to crunch every piece of functionality they can into their apps. This is a fatal flaw in many of the applications that we see built for newspapers and media companies today. There is a very fine line that needs to be drawn between user experience (UX) and [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>It is often a habit of mobile developers to crunch every piece of functionality they can into their apps. This is a fatal flaw in many of the applications that we see built for newspapers and media companies today. There is a very fine line that needs to be drawn between user experience (UX) and functionality and we find many people try and cram everything, including the kitchen sink into their apps. When developing an app you must first think about what your goals are and how best to leverage the mobile platform. After you have defined your goals, you can then define the functionality.</p>
<p>If you are a regular reader of the Spreed blog or know much about Spreed:Inc, you will know that we believe that newspapers in this day and age need a mobile application. However, too often we see people try and cram everything they can into their mobile news reader. This is a problem in the newspaper industry as news websites have such a large amount of varying types of content.</p>
<p>Here at Spreed we advise our customer to follow a long tail niche approach to application development. The first application that any company develops should be focused specifically around their news content. However, by no means should you ignore all the other content that is available on your website. Now that many newspapers have applications it is time to start thinking about the different niche apps that can be built to include your other content while leveraging the unique capabilities of these phones (i.e. multimedia, GPS, built in camera). By no means should you cram all of this other content and functionality into your existing app. Each source of content applies to a different app and can provide yet another revenue source to your paper.</p>
<p>A few scenarios that we often suggest our clients to consider are sports apps, traffic/weather apps, tourism apps, classified apps, finance apps and home listing apps. These applications can be sold at a premium and leverage the vast content pool that newspapers already have access to. If you try and cram all these features into your main headline app, you will sacrifice both your UX and your potential future revenue.</p>
<p>There are three examples of strong niche apps developed by newspapers that I would like to show here:</p>
<p>The first is the GoVolsXtra application developed by Spreed for the Knoxville News Sentinel. Knoxville had already created a separate portal for their university sports team, so this was an obvious extension of their brand. We simply pulled their live stats, news, pictures and videos and packaged them together in an app. If Knoxnews tried to cram all this info into their main headline app they would not have been able to provide as rich of an experience.</p>
<p><img align="center" class="size-medium wp-image-259 aligncenter" title="GoVolsXtra" src="http://blog.spreedinc.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/IMG_0553-200x300.png" alt="" width="200" height="300" /></p>
<p>The second app that I would like to highlight is a tourism app developed by USA Today (Gannett). The Gannett team has been very strong in the mobile space and many will call the USA Today application one of the best news apps in the iTunes app store. Although there is a lot of functionality in the USA Today headline app, they have done a very good job at balancing it and not allowing for any more than three clicks to get to any particular piece of information. USA Today has a wealth of content and they have decided to release numerous apps, however the best one in my opinion is the USA Autopilot app which is a great tool for any frequent traveler.</p>
<p><img class="aligncenter" title="USA Today" src="http://www.mercuryintermedia.com/images/autopilot/autopilot_a.png" alt="" width="210" height="313" /></p>
<p>The final application that I would like to highlight and the newest entry in the market is the NYTime home finder app. This app lets you find home listings in the NYTimes database and find homes for sales/open houses that are around your current location. This app it light, easy to use and takes advantage of location based features of the iPhone. It is a huge win for the NYTimes who have not really updated their mobile application since it first hit the app store.</p>
<p><a href="http://blog.spreedinc.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/photo.jpg"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-265" title="photo" src="http://blog.spreedinc.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/photo-200x300.jpg" alt="" width="200" height="300" /></a></p>
<p>The point that I am trying to make here is that the application ecosystem holds a lot of potential for newspapers, but be careful not to replicate what you did on the web. Do not try and cram everything into your existing application as it will not service any of your primary goals; building retention, generating revenue. There is so much content available within a newspaper website and each set of content can lend itself to a specific application. Each app presents a huge opportunity to become a major revenue generator for the newspaper. I am not saying here that you should not include some of your niche content in your headline app. For example you can still have a sports news  in your headline app and then different niche sports apps that present scores, statistics as well as news. </p>
<p>A good strategy moving forward is to watch your headline app statistics very carefully. The key here is to not include loads of functionality around your content in your headline app to the extent that it becomes bulky and impossible to navigate. If you see that people are reading your sports section, travel section, weather section or books sections  heavily, there is a good case to be made for building a niche app around that content in order to leverage the functionality of these device to build a richer user experience in a separate app. The devil is in the details and it is very important to keep your eyes on the stats to see where your mobile opportunities lay.</p>
<p>If you have any questions on how you can leverage your existing content to build an app please let us know.</p>
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		<title>Retailers are Ready to Spend on Mobile</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=240</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=240#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 01 Mar 2010 15:30:38 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[applications]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[retail]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[retail advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[retailers]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=240</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Last week retail executives descended upon Palm Desert, California for the annual eTail West conference. ETail West is North America&#8217;s leading multi-channel retail event, so why is this of interest to Spreed, publishers and media executives? At the end of the week over 150 of the top executives opted in to stick around for an [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Last week retail executives descended upon Palm Desert, California for the annual <a href="http://www.wbresearch.com/etailusawest/">eTail West conference</a>. ETail West is North America&#8217;s leading multi-channel retail event, so why is this of interest to Spreed, publishers and media executives? At the end of the week over 150 of the top executives opted in to stick around for an extra day and learn all about mobile advertising and marketing. This is the third retail conference that I have heard of that is putting an emphasis on retail and it is clear now that retailers are ready to embrace the mobile market.</p>
<p>Why are retailers now becoming attracted to mobile advertising? <a href="http://www.mobilemarketer.com/cms/opinion/editorials/5525.html">Mickey Khan of Mobile Marketer</a> puts it best when he states that, &#8220;retailers are now open to the virtues of mobile marketing and commerce. Once again, consumers have led by indicating their new preferences for shopping, searching, emailing, photo-clicking, communicating and networking, game-playing and interacting with ads through mobile devices – on the couch or on the run.&#8221;</p>
<p>Publishers and media companies need to take this as a sign that times are changing. A number of companies have been holding off on an application strategy because they didn&#8217;t think they could fill the advertising inventory; this is clearly changing. Companies that already have an app should be making sure that their ad platform is conducive to the retail environment.</p>
<p>So what is Spreed doing to help our clients and prospective publishers and media companies attract retailers? Our ad platform he been built with our clients ad partners in mind. We offer a range of advertising options that are perfect for the retail environment. Firstly, we offer mobile flyers, which allow users to browse through a retailers entire catalog directly through a publishers applications.</p>
<p>Secondly, we are offering location based advertising which will connect readers to brick and mortar businesses as they approach them geographically. We know how many applications are being opened within the general vicinity of retail locations and these analytics can be very beneficial in closing leads and offering value. Both of these options have the potential to engage the users in a high value interactive setting and can offer great returns to advertisers.</p>
<p>We are excited to be hearing about the interest in the retail market and would suggest that all of our clients begin speaking to these prospective advertisers as well as Spreed about what the different ad opportunities are.</p>
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		<title>Apple Banning Location Based Advertising? &#8211; We Don&#8217;t Think So</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=197</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=197#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 09 Feb 2010 16:37:57 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[iphone]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[anti-trust]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[apple]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[location]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[location based advertising]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=197</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[We recently reported that Apple acquired Quattro, a mobile advertising network. Shortly after the sale of Quattro Apple released a statement saying that apps that requested a users location for the primary purpose of location based advertising would be rejected by the app store. At first sight this appears to be anti-competitive behavior. Apple recently [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>We recently reported that Apple acquired Quattro, a mobile advertising network. Shortly after the sale of Quattro Apple released a statement saying that apps that requested a users location for the primary purpose of location based advertising would be rejected by the app store.</p>
<p>At first sight this appears to be anti-competitive behavior. Apple recently <a href="http://appft.uspto.gov/netacgi/nph-Parser?Sect1=PTO2&amp;Sect2=HITOFF&amp;p=1&amp;u=%2Fnetahtml%2FPTO%2Fsearch-bool.html&amp;r=1&amp;f=G&amp;l=50&amp;co1=AND&amp;d=PG01&amp;s1=20090064056.PGNR.&amp;OS=DN/20090064056&amp;RS=DN/20090064056">filed for a patent around location based advertising</a> and their purchase of Quattro makes it obvious that they plan on pursuing this highly engaging targeting method. Over the past week every has been yelling that Apple is the new Microsoft and that their actions are anti-competitive in nature. I do not think we should be so quick to judge.</p>
<p>By the sounds of it, Apple is not going to ban applications that use location information for advertising as long as they provide some other added value, location based service. Only time will tell, but it seems far fetched to think that they would allow apps that use Quattro&#8217;s platform to perform location based advertising without a valuable reason to grab the location and not others. What they <strong>are</strong> trying to do is ensure that people do not get slammed with location requests for no other reason than to be bombarded with advertising.</p>
<p>If this is what Apple is doing, I am behind them 100%. Location based advertising has always been considered the holy grail of the mobile platform, but there is a fine balance between adding value and being annoying. Apple is trying to ensure that their user experience is not compromised by annoyances to the user that don&#8217;t actually give them anything useful in return.</p>
<p>For media publishers adding valuable location based content should not be a problem. For example, in order to gain the users location all the publisher needs to do is provide local news, local weather, or local reviews. If you add this type of functionality then you have every reason to grab the users location as you are giving them something in return for their coordinates and can therefore also use that location data for ad targeting.</p>
<p>If this is the case then good on Apple for trying to maintain a high level of user satisfaction. Here at Spreed we will be keeping our eyes on this issue as we currently allow publishers to target users with local advertising, but only do so if we have a good reason to request their location. Only time will tell.</p>
<p><strong><em>Update:</em></strong></p>
<p>Here is the official statement from Apple:</p>
<p style="padding-left: 30px;"><em>If you build your application with features based on a user&#8217;s location, make sure these features provide beneficial information. If your app uses location-based information primarily to enable mobile advertisers to deliver targeted ads based on a user&#8217;s location, your app will be returned to you by the App Store Review Team for modification before it can be posted to the App Store.</em></p>
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		<item>
		<title>Branded Mobile Apps or App Sponsorships? The Lost Art of Sponsorship</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=188</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=188#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 04 Feb 2010 15:09:16 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mediapost]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile marketing watch]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[retention rates]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[sponsorship]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[steve smith]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=188</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[An interesting post came up on Mobile Marketing Watch yesterday about the resurgence of application sponsorships. The post cites an article written by Steve Smith of MediaPost. I will let Steve do the heavy lifting, but in summary the article states that not every brand translates well into a mobile application. If you do not have [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>An interesting post came up on <a href="http://www.mobilemarketingwatch.com/forget-branded-mobile-apps-sponsorships-are-making-a-comeback-in-mobile-marketing-5187/">Mobile Marketing Watch</a> yesterday about the resurgence of application sponsorships. The post cites an article written by <a href="http://www.mediapost.com/publications/?fa=Archives.showArchive&amp;author=309">Steve Smith of MediaPost</a>. I will let Steve do the heavy lifting, but in summary the article states that not every brand translates well into a mobile application. If you do not have an idea for a mobile app that adds value to your brand, don&#8217;t just build something for the hell of it! You will spend big money on an app that hardly ever gets downloaded and even if it does the retention rates will probably be so low that it does not justify the costs. Instead, find an existing mobile media application  - i.e. a newspaper app &#8211; whose retention rates are usually through the roof (74% after 30 days) and pay for a run of app sponsorship. You will be able to, at a fraction of the time and cost, leverage the eye balls that someone else has been able to retain and still embed actionable functionality that will give you all the benefits of having your own app. If you have any questions on what I mean about embedding actionable functionality please contact me. A number of the ad units that Spreed is helping to build can be considered apps within apps (actionable functionality) and when grouped together with the sponsorship costs are much less expensive and will provide much more bang for your buck! Here is the article from MediaPost:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.mediapost.com/publications/?fa=Articles.showArticle&amp;art_aid=121771">The Lost Art of Sponsorship</a></p>
<p style="padding-left: 30px;"><em>Now that a bit of the fervor over branded apps has died down, it has become clearer to a lot of marketers that not every brand translates easily into the kind of utility consumers really want on their phone. Some publishers tell me that they are getting a lot of interest from marketers who want to be sole sponsor of new branded media apps. Instead of buying up a new audience for their branded app, they prefer to align with a tool and a media source brand that has already built an audience. </em></p>
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		<item>
		<title>Ford Embraced Mobile Advertising and Got its Moneys Worth &#8211; 20% CTR</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=186</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=186#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 03 Feb 2010 16:38:24 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Technology]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[CTR]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ford]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile posse]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobileposse]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=186</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Mobile advertising has been a long time coming and advocates of its power have always been touting its ability to drive high level click through rates (CTRs) for advertisers. We saw a few of examples of these high CTRs in 2009, but Mobile Posse a mobile advertising firm based out of Virginia just posted some [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Mobile advertising has been a long time coming and advocates of its power have always been touting its ability to drive high level click through rates (CTRs) for advertisers. We saw a few of examples of these high CTRs in 2009, but <a href="http://www.mobileposse.com">Mobile Posse</a> a mobile advertising firm based out of Virginia just posted some interested statistics that cannot be ignored. Mobile Posse has partnered with 5 of the major carriers in the United States to create opt-in (users have to agree to see the advertising) idle-screen advertisements. This means that when users phones are idle they are displayed an advertisement on their screen that they can then click on. If the user choses to click on the ad they are pushed to a mobile website with more information from the relevant advertiser. Over 1 million mobile users have opted into Mobile Posse&#8217;s service which allows them to view these ads.</p>
<p>In January Mobile Posse launched an ad campaign with Ford Motors, promoting the new Ford Taurus. The campaign displayed information about the new car on user&#8217;s idle screens and when they clicked on the advertisement they were taken to Ford&#8217;s mobile website which let them locate their closest dealer. <strong>This campaign saw a staggering 20% CTR</strong>. This means that 20% of people who saw this ad actually clicked on it and interacted with Ford&#8217;s mobile website. Typical web based ad campaigns see an average CTR of just under 1%, so a 20% campaign is not something to ignore. It is important to note that the numbers are slightly skewed because all of these users had initially opted in to see advertising on their phones, however these stats suggest that the power of mobile advertising is very real.</p>
<p>In an earlier post (<a href="http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=147">here</a>) we spoke about the future of mobile advertising and suggested where Apple and Spreed want to take the industry. If we can match motivated users with the type of actionable advertising capabilities that Spreed is building into our platform, it is not insane to think that by the end of 2010 we will see CTRs going well above this 20% benchmark. This is very exciting news and I would like to congratulate Mobile Posse on what appears to be a fantastic service. I know that we will be keeping an eye on them.</p>
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		<item>
		<title>The iPad &#8211; Good for Newspapers?</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=168</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=168#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 27 Jan 2010 21:27:58 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Internet]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Technology]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[launch]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[apple]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[apps]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ipad]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[iphone]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[islate]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[new york times]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[newspaper]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[nytimes]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[tablet]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=168</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[So the iPad was just officially announced by Steve Jobs and overall sentiment online has been mixed. I am going to reserve my judgement until I have actually placed my eyes and hands on the device myself. However, I do want to point out that this device or one similar to it is going to [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><img src="http://www.blogcdn.com/www.engadget.com/media/2010/01/tab12_600x400.jpg" alt="" width="360" height="240" align="center" /></p>
<p>So the iPad was just officially announced by Steve Jobs and overall sentiment online has been mixed. I am going to reserve my judgement until I have actually placed my eyes and hands on the device myself. However, I do want to point out that this device or one similar to it is going to completely revolutionize the PC industry. </p>
<p>A few posts back I talked about the impending mobile OS wars and the future of the PC industry. The launch of the iPad proves that this movement is very real and that we are going to see more of these in the near future. </p>
<p>What does this all mean for newspapers and media companies? Well, we saw two media demo&#8217;s today. The first was from MLB who always do a spectacular job with their interactive technology innovations. If anyone is on the cusp of making ipTV attractive for the masses it is the MLB. more importantly though was the demo from the New York Times. </p>
<p>Here at Spreed we are very focused on the newspaper industry and as such the iPad is a very interesting platform  for us. The NYTimes demo showed off a great looking app that really took advantage of the entire form factor to replicate and enhance the traditional newspaper experience. I love how they have integrated videos and galleries seamlessly into articles and how users can get a snapshot of every article in todays newspaper through one view. </p>
<p>In addition this is a much smarter platform for newspapers and magazine publishers in comparison to the Kindle. For a good year now I have been saying that the Kindle is okay, but it doesn&#8217;t satisfy the needs of readers and advertisers. The Kindle is black and white and not interactive from a media stand point. The iPad completely satisfies these holes left by the Kindle. It can do everything a Kindle can, but displays everything in color and lets people really interact with the content (a must for online advertisers these days). </p>
<p>Mobile platforms are exciting and there is loads of potential for innovation. Spreed is definitely going to be playing around with the iPad and helping our clients embrace this new platform. However, we suggest everyone be cautious and make sure that they understand each platform before they move onto the next one. Make sure you can sell at least some of your existing mobile inventory on your iPhone, Blackberry and Android apps before you start sinking big money into an iTab edition of your paper. </p>
<p>I look forward to getting my iTab and sharing my first hand findings with  you all. Please feel free to call or email me with any questions about this new platform and what it means for your organization.</p>
<p style="text-align: left; "><object width="480" height="295" data="http://www.youtube.com/v/NRQ0Aq1XzdE&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1&amp;" type="application/x-shockwave-flash"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true" /><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always" /><param name="src" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/NRQ0Aq1XzdE&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1&amp;" /><param name="allowfullscreen" value="true" /></object></p>
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		<title>December Admob Metrics</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=166</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=166#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 25 Jan 2010 16:25:47 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Technology]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[admob]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[analytics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[iphone]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Ipod touch]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[metrics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile metrics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[touch]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=166</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Admob, which was recently acquired by Google is always a great place to get useful stats on the mobile landscape. Marketers looking to understand the viability of a new smartphone platform in terms of potential ad revenue should always keep the Admob numbers in mind. I do have my questions about the validity of the [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Admob, which was recently acquired by Google is always a great place to get useful stats on the mobile landscape. Marketers looking to understand the viability of a new smartphone platform in terms of potential ad revenue should always keep the Admob numbers in mind. I do have my questions about the validity of the Admob numbers. Nearly all of the ads it serves to smartphones are centered around Android and especially the iPhone. Therefore  it doesn’t give the greatest all-around snapshot of the mobile landscape.  Still, it provides insight into the long-term given the fact that smartphones such as Android and the iPhone represent the future of mobile devices and especially the future of the mobile Web and how to monetize it.</p>
<p>This months stats pointed out two very interesting items. Firstly, they noted that iPod touch numbers doubled after Christmas morning. This is to be expected (it also happened last year), but what are the implications? Publishers should understand that when building an application they must keep in mind the regularly offline iPod touch users. Spreed takes this into consideration when developing apps with our offline reading mode feature. All content is downloaded into the device when it has connectivity and reports usage back to the server when it reaches its next connection point. This means that iPod touch users (an increasingly growing market) can still use the app, download the content when in their Wi-fi network and read it on the go.</p>
<p>The second notable stat from this months report is that the iPhone accounted for 54% of all smartphone requests. Although it is important to take into consideration a multiple platform advertising strategy, it is clear that the iPhone is currently the best platform for displaying and seeing a return on your investment.</p>
<p><a href="http://metrics.admob.com/2010/01/december-2009-mobile-metrics-report/">December 2009 Mobile Metrics Report</a></p>
<p style="padding-left: 30px;"><em>Today we released the December edition of our Mobile Metrics report, our monthly look at the data flowing through our network.  This month we look at several key metrics including manufacturer share, operating system share, top devices, and top smartphones for each region in our network.  At a glance, the data shows large regional differences in the devices that are accessing the mobile web.</em></p>
<p><em><img class="alignnone" src="http://www.pocketgamer.biz/FCKEditorFiles//admob_ipod-touch_460.jpg" alt="" width="460" height="338" /></em></p>
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		<title>Symbian Leading the Game in Mobile CTR&#8217;s</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=153</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=153#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 19 Jan 2010 16:10:31 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Symbian]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[smaato]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=153</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[A new report was released last week by Smaato outlining the success of mobile advertising in 2009. One very surprising highlight of their report was the fact that Symbian is the leading mobile platform when it comes to engaging end-users in mobile advertising. This surprises me as I was under the impression that the iPhone [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><a href="http://www.mobilemarketingwatch.com/tracking-mobile-ad-click-rates-symbian-still-rules-4923/">A new report was released last week by Smaato</a> outlining the success of mobile advertising in 2009. One very surprising highlight of their report was the fact that Symbian is the leading mobile platform when it comes to engaging end-users in mobile advertising. This surprises me as I was under the impression that the iPhone was by far the leader in CTR&#8217;s. Today, Symbian released a statement responding to this report.</p>
<p><a href="http://blog.symbian.org/2010/01/14/symbian-dominant-in-click-through/">Symbian Dominant in Click-Through</a></p>
<p style="padding-left: 30px;"><em>Some new December data from the mobile advertising company </em><a href="http://metrics.smaato.com/"><em>Smaato</em></a><em> suggests that it’s actually Symbian that kills both the iPhone and Android. Now, I know what you’re thinking: that’s because Nokia, despite the buzz surrounding the sexier smartphone devices, remains the biggest mobile player in the world. But actually, the numbers are for the all-important click-through rates on the various platforms.</em></p>
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<div class="wp-caption alignnone" style="width: 554px"><img src="http://symbianfoundation.files.wordpress.com/2010/01/picture-12.png?w=544&amp;h=286" alt="Smaato Index - Operation System CTRs Worldwide - Dec 2009" width="544" height="286" /><p class="wp-caption-text">Smaato Index - Operation System CTR&#39;s Worldwide - Dec 2009</p></div>
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		<title>Smaller Startups to Fuel M&amp;A Fire in Mobile Ads This Year</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=151</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=151#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 19 Jan 2010 15:34:28 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[gigaom]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[M&A]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile marketing]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=151</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[As part of our 2010 marketing strategy we are going to begin sharing interesting articles from around the mobile marketing/advertising space with all of our readers. Over the weekend GigaOm (a publication I have a lot of respect for) posted and article about how small mobile ad startups are going to fuel an M&#38;A fire [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>As part of our 2010 marketing strategy we are going to begin sharing interesting articles from around the mobile marketing/advertising space with all of our readers. Over the weekend GigaOm (a publication I have a lot of respect for) posted and article about how small mobile ad startups are going to fuel an M&amp;A fire this year. Although the two biggest ad networks were recently bought up by Google and Apple, there are a lot of smaller companies that are pursuing very interesting niches in the mobile ecosystem. The article argues that these startups are going to be very attractive to some of the big boys in the next year.</p>
<p><a href="http://gigaom.com/2010/01/17/smaller-startups-to-fuel-ma-fire-in-mobile-ads-this-year/">Smaller Startups to Fuel M&amp;A Fire in Mobile Ads This Year</a></p>
<p style="padding-left: 30px;"><em>While we may see one or two more big-budget acquisitions in mobile advertising this year, most of the M&amp;A activity will center on smaller startups. Entrenched firms with deep pockets will look to fill out the holes in their mobile ad businesses, and independent players will forge alliances to better compete with their larger counterparts. Those deals won’t make headlines, but they will reconfigure the landscape of mobile advertising in 2010.</em></p>
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