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	<title>Spreed:Blog - Mobile News for Media and Publishing Executives &#187; mobile marketing</title>
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		<title>Monday Morning Mobile Round Up &#8211; Mobile Advertising, The Olympics and A Strong 2010</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=191</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=191#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 08 Feb 2010 16:13:33 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=191</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Happy Monday morning everyone. I hope you all had a great weekend. I know everyone is busy getting ready for the week ahead, so instead of giving you a few long posts I have decided to share some of my weekend reading with you. Mobile ad campaigns 5 times more effective than online: InsightExpress study [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Happy Monday morning everyone. I hope you all had a great weekend. I know everyone is busy getting ready for the week ahead, so instead of giving you a few long posts I have decided to share some of my weekend reading with you.</p>
<p><a href="http://www.mobilemarketer.com/cms/news/research/5308.html">Mobile ad campaigns 5 times more effective than online: InsightExpress study</a></p>
<p style="padding-left: 30px;"><em>“Far from being a one-trick pony, mobile is effective in rich environments like mobile video, minimal environments like SMS and the area in between covered by mobile display,” she said. “Add to this the findings that all verticals are seeing mobile impacts greater than online campaigns and the arguments for not adding mobile to a media plan fall away.”</em></p>
<p><a href="http://www.mobilemarketer.com/cms/news/media/5323.html">NBC details aggressive mobile initiatives for 2010 Olympics</a></p>
<p style="padding-left: 30px;"><em>Through partnerships with several carrier networks and brands such as Coca-Cola, NBC Universal is bringing its 2010 Vancouver Winter Olympic Games to the mobile medium.</em></p>
<p style="padding-left: 30px;"><em>NBC has launched several new mobile initiatives and rebranded its other wireless properties to promote the sporting event. The entertainment giant’s coverage of the Olympic Games spans its various television networks and content channels to bring as much programming and interaction to consumers.</em></p>
<p><em><a href="http://www.mobilemarketer.com/cms/news/advertising/5305.html">Mobile Marketer&#8217;s Mobile Outlook 2010</a></em></p>
<p style="padding-left: 30px;"><em>It is quite clear from recent market activity – Google buying AdMob and Apple absorbing Quattro Wireless, Apple iPad and Google Nexus One launches, eBay’s record $500 million in mobile commerce last year – that mobile is no longer considered a niche medium.</em></p>
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<p style="padding-left: 30px;">Buoyed by results of mobile campaigns initiated last year, many brands are expected to ramp up their spending from six figures to seven. Richard Ting, mobile chief at No. 1 interactive agency R/GA, projects that mobile budgets will grow this year between 100 percent and 150 percent.</p>
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		<title>Branded Mobile Apps or App Sponsorships? The Lost Art of Sponsorship</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=188</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=188#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 04 Feb 2010 15:09:16 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mediapost]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile marketing watch]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[retention rates]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[sponsorship]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[steve smith]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=188</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[An interesting post came up on Mobile Marketing Watch yesterday about the resurgence of application sponsorships. The post cites an article written by Steve Smith of MediaPost. I will let Steve do the heavy lifting, but in summary the article states that not every brand translates well into a mobile application. If you do not have [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>An interesting post came up on <a href="http://www.mobilemarketingwatch.com/forget-branded-mobile-apps-sponsorships-are-making-a-comeback-in-mobile-marketing-5187/">Mobile Marketing Watch</a> yesterday about the resurgence of application sponsorships. The post cites an article written by <a href="http://www.mediapost.com/publications/?fa=Archives.showArchive&amp;author=309">Steve Smith of MediaPost</a>. I will let Steve do the heavy lifting, but in summary the article states that not every brand translates well into a mobile application. If you do not have an idea for a mobile app that adds value to your brand, don&#8217;t just build something for the hell of it! You will spend big money on an app that hardly ever gets downloaded and even if it does the retention rates will probably be so low that it does not justify the costs. Instead, find an existing mobile media application  - i.e. a newspaper app &#8211; whose retention rates are usually through the roof (74% after 30 days) and pay for a run of app sponsorship. You will be able to, at a fraction of the time and cost, leverage the eye balls that someone else has been able to retain and still embed actionable functionality that will give you all the benefits of having your own app. If you have any questions on what I mean about embedding actionable functionality please contact me. A number of the ad units that Spreed is helping to build can be considered apps within apps (actionable functionality) and when grouped together with the sponsorship costs are much less expensive and will provide much more bang for your buck! Here is the article from MediaPost:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.mediapost.com/publications/?fa=Articles.showArticle&amp;art_aid=121771">The Lost Art of Sponsorship</a></p>
<p style="padding-left: 30px;"><em>Now that a bit of the fervor over branded apps has died down, it has become clearer to a lot of marketers that not every brand translates easily into the kind of utility consumers really want on their phone. Some publishers tell me that they are getting a lot of interest from marketers who want to be sole sponsor of new branded media apps. Instead of buying up a new audience for their branded app, they prefer to align with a tool and a media source brand that has already built an audience. </em></p>
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		<title>Symbian Leading the Game in Mobile CTR&#8217;s</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=153</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=153#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 19 Jan 2010 16:10:31 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Symbian]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[smaato]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=153</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[A new report was released last week by Smaato outlining the success of mobile advertising in 2009. One very surprising highlight of their report was the fact that Symbian is the leading mobile platform when it comes to engaging end-users in mobile advertising. This surprises me as I was under the impression that the iPhone [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><a href="http://www.mobilemarketingwatch.com/tracking-mobile-ad-click-rates-symbian-still-rules-4923/">A new report was released last week by Smaato</a> outlining the success of mobile advertising in 2009. One very surprising highlight of their report was the fact that Symbian is the leading mobile platform when it comes to engaging end-users in mobile advertising. This surprises me as I was under the impression that the iPhone was by far the leader in CTR&#8217;s. Today, Symbian released a statement responding to this report.</p>
<p><a href="http://blog.symbian.org/2010/01/14/symbian-dominant-in-click-through/">Symbian Dominant in Click-Through</a></p>
<p style="padding-left: 30px;"><em>Some new December data from the mobile advertising company </em><a href="http://metrics.smaato.com/"><em>Smaato</em></a><em> suggests that it’s actually Symbian that kills both the iPhone and Android. Now, I know what you’re thinking: that’s because Nokia, despite the buzz surrounding the sexier smartphone devices, remains the biggest mobile player in the world. But actually, the numbers are for the all-important click-through rates on the various platforms.</em></p>
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<div class="wp-caption alignnone" style="width: 554px"><img src="http://symbianfoundation.files.wordpress.com/2010/01/picture-12.png?w=544&amp;h=286" alt="Smaato Index - Operation System CTRs Worldwide - Dec 2009" width="544" height="286" /><p class="wp-caption-text">Smaato Index - Operation System CTR&#39;s Worldwide - Dec 2009</p></div>
<p></em></p>
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		<title>Smaller Startups to Fuel M&amp;A Fire in Mobile Ads This Year</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=151</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=151#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 19 Jan 2010 15:34:28 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[gigaom]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[M&A]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile marketing]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=151</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[As part of our 2010 marketing strategy we are going to begin sharing interesting articles from around the mobile marketing/advertising space with all of our readers. Over the weekend GigaOm (a publication I have a lot of respect for) posted and article about how small mobile ad startups are going to fuel an M&#38;A fire [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>As part of our 2010 marketing strategy we are going to begin sharing interesting articles from around the mobile marketing/advertising space with all of our readers. Over the weekend GigaOm (a publication I have a lot of respect for) posted and article about how small mobile ad startups are going to fuel an M&amp;A fire this year. Although the two biggest ad networks were recently bought up by Google and Apple, there are a lot of smaller companies that are pursuing very interesting niches in the mobile ecosystem. The article argues that these startups are going to be very attractive to some of the big boys in the next year.</p>
<p><a href="http://gigaom.com/2010/01/17/smaller-startups-to-fuel-ma-fire-in-mobile-ads-this-year/">Smaller Startups to Fuel M&amp;A Fire in Mobile Ads This Year</a></p>
<p style="padding-left: 30px;"><em>While we may see one or two more big-budget acquisitions in mobile advertising this year, most of the M&amp;A activity will center on smaller startups. Entrenched firms with deep pockets will look to fill out the holes in their mobile ad businesses, and independent players will forge alliances to better compete with their larger counterparts. Those deals won’t make headlines, but they will reconfigure the landscape of mobile advertising in 2010.</em></p>
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		<title>Apple and Spreed Set to Revolutionize Mobile Advertising</title>
		<link>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=147</link>
		<comments>http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=147#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 19 Jan 2010 15:06:00 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Coleman</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spreed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Technology]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[globe and mail]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[admob]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[android]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[apple]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[cleverads]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[contentsync]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[google]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[iphone]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[quattro]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.spreedinc.com/?p=147</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[In the past few months we have seen some major moves in the mobile advertising industry by two of the biggest tech titans. In November Google acquired mobile ad network Admob for a reported $750-million in stock and in January Apple acquired another major mobile ad network Quattro wireless for close to $300-million. Now a [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>In the past few months we have seen some major moves in the mobile advertising industry by two of the biggest tech titans. In November Google acquired mobile ad network Admob for a reported $750-million in stock and in January Apple acquired another major mobile ad network Quattro wireless for close to $300-million. Now a <a href="http://www.businessweek.com/magazine/content/10_04/b4164028483414.htm">Business Week article</a> has been released stating that sources close to Steve Jobs say he is planning big things for Quattro. According to these source Mr. Jobs is planning to &#8220;revolutionize the mobile advertising industry&#8221;.</p>
<p>If any of you have used Admob before you will know that the majority of the ads that are served up on their network are pretty much replicas of traditional online banner ads and in most cases not well targeted and un-actionable. Mr. Jobs see&#8217;s this hole and knows the true powers of both mobile and more specifically the iPhone. Mobile advertising has the potential to be much more valuable than web based advertising both to end-users and brands. Instead of simply serving up two-dimensional banner ads that click to a mobile website, Jobs see&#8217;s the potential of utilizing the vast functionality of these smart phones to engage end-users.</p>
<p>Take this scenario for example. A user is checking their Yahoo Fantasy Sports app on the iPhone during Football Sunday. The phone knows which app is being used when and knows to serve up a Domino&#8217;s Pizza ad. The ad shows the latest deals from Domino&#8217;s and then lets the end-user make a call directly from the ad. The user is also then able to download a coupon from the ad directly into their phone&#8217;s photo gallery so that when the delivery boy arrives at the door they can redeem their discount. In cases like these the advertisement is adding loads of value to the end user and because they are so engaged the brand (Domino&#8217;s in this case) is happy.</p>
<p>Spreed believes in this methodology and is actively building these types of ads for our publishers&#8217; advertising partners. In addition our ad platform has advanced targeting capabilities. Because we analyze every action that goes on within our apps we can begin profiling users and serving them the right ads at the right time.</p>
<p>These are very early days for the mobile advertising industry, however we believe, just like Steve Jobs, that this industry needs to go a lot further than simply pushing a random banner ad to an unknown end user.</p>
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